THE SUSSEX COUNTY LIBRARY SYSTEM







Electronic Databases

Ancestry.com  Chilton's Auto Repair Manuals   Contemporary Authors   Corfacts Online   CountryWatch  
Custom Newspapers   EbscoHost   Heritage Quest   Informe   Learning Express   
Literary Reference Center   Literature Resource Center   New York Times   Novelist  
Prices4Antiques  Salud en Espanol  ValueLine  Westlaw   World of Poetry

Each one of these databases provides a wealth of useful information.  Some of them, such as EbscoHost and Facts on File have so much information, they have created sub-databases to organize information by subject.  Most of these databases can be used from any location so long as you have a valid Sussex County Library card.  Please contact the Library if you have any questions regarding the use of the databases.

 

JerseyClicks lets you search all of Ebsco and Facts on File as well as Contemporary Authors, Custom Newspapers and Informe with just one click! 
Click on the picture to the left or any GO buttons to access JerseyClicks.  If you are in the library you don't even need to enter your barcode, just click Go a second time.


Ancestry.com  
access restricted to library computers
Ancestry.com hosts the largest collection of family history records on the web.  Learn details about your family's lives and build a family tree online.

Chilton's Auto Repair Manuals

click HERE if you are in the library

 

Auto Repair Reference Center includes complete automotive repair information supplied Chilton's with approximately 23,000 domestic and imported vehicles covered from 1954 to present; over 100,000 factory drawings and step-by-step photographs; over 60,000 technical service bulletins & recalls issued by the original equipment vehicle manufacturer; wiring diagrams for easy viewing and printing; specifications & maintenance schedules; Labor Time Guide & Estimator; Quick Tips, a complete guide to vehicle ownership & maintenance; and much more.


Contemporary Authors    

Corfacts Online  
Corfacts Online is New Jersey's premier business to business database.  Immediate access to up-to-date information on over 51,000 New Jersey companies in services and manufacturing. Completely customizable selection criteria.

Country Watch

Regional subscription cancelled

Please use these alternative websites.


Custom Newspapers    

click HERE if you are in the library

 
The following newspapers are provided: Bergen Record (1996 to current), Newark Star-Ledger (1996 to current), New York Times (365 rolling file), Times of London* (1997 to current), Los Angeles Times (1996 to current) *Sunday Times of London is not included

EbscoHost       
MasterFILE Premier  1975 - current
Designed specifically for public libraries, this multidisciplinary database provides full text for nearly 2,000 general reference publications with full text information. MasterFILE Premier also includes 314 full text reference books, nearly 100,000 biographies, 76,000 primary source documents, and an image collection of 116,000 photos, maps and flags.
Biography Collection Complete
A comprehensive collection of full-text biographies supporting history, science, the arts, music, literature, multicultural studies, gender studies, business, government & politics, sports, entertainment and many other areas. This database features more than 177,000 full-text biographies from many different sources.
Biomedical Reference Collection: Expanded
Designed for doctors, research scientists, students and clinical specialists, this database provides more than 200 full text journals. Covering virtually all areas of medical study, all full text journals included the Biomedical Reference Collection: Expanded Edition are also indexed in MEDLINE.  
Business Source Elite  1985 - current
This business database provides full text for more than 1,100 scholarly business journals, including full text for nearly 450 peer-reviewed business publications.
Corporate ResourceNet
Corporate ResourceNet is designed to meet the diverse information needs of today’s companies. This database contains full text articles from nearly 1,200 quality magazines and journals.  
EBSCO Animals
Provides in-depth information on a variety of topics relating to animals. The database consists of indexing, abstracts, and full text records describing the nature and habitat of familiar animals.
ERIC
ERIC, the Educational Resource Information Center contains more than 2,200 digests and citations and abstracts from over 980 educational and education-related journals.
Funk & Wagnalls New World Encyclopedia
This database provides over 25,000 encyclopedic entries covering a variety of subject areas.
GreenFILE
GreenFileoffers well-researched information covering all aspects of human impact to the environment. Its collection of scholarly, government and general-interest titles includes content on global warming, green building, pollution, sustainable agriculture, renewable energy, recycling, and more. The database provides indexing and abstracts for more than 384,000 records, as well as Open Access full text for more than 4,700 records.
Health Source - Consumer Edition
Search for information on health topics including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Includes searchable full text for over 190 journals including Consumer Reports on Health and Men’s Health, as well as abstracts and indexing for over 205 publications.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition
This database provides nearly 600 scholarly full text journals focusing on many medical disciplines. Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition also features abstracts and indexing for nearly 850 journals.
History Reference Center
Offers full text from more than 2,000 reference books, encyclopedias and non-fiction books, cover to cover full text for more than 120 history periodicals, more than 59,600 historical documents, 49,600 biographies of historical figures, more than 110,200 historical photos and maps, and more than 80 hours of historical video.
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts
Library, Information Science & Technology Abstract (LISTA) indexes more than 690 periodicals, plus books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s
MAS Online
Provides indexing and abstracts for over 230 general interest and current events magazines, including full text for nearly 200. Includes over 400 full text pamphlets and nearly 20 full text reference books.
McClatchy-Tribune Collection
The McClatchy-Tribune Collection includes a 90-day archive of approximately 290 newspapers from the McClatchy-Tribune Information Services. This database is updated daily.  
Middle Search Plus 1990 - current
Middle Search Plus provides full text for more than 150 popular, magazines for middle and jr. high school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).
Newspaper Source
Selected full text coverage for more than 240 newspapers including: Boston Globe, Detroit Free Press, Houston Chronicle, Miami Herald, San Jose Mercury News, etc., with cover-to-cover full text for USA Today, The Christian Science Monitor and The Times (London). Full text transcripts include  Face the Nation, CBS Evening News with Dan Rather, 60 Minutes, O'Reilly Factor, Hannity & Colmes, National Public Radio, etc.

Nursing & Allied health Collection: Expanded
Designed for nursing and allied health professionals, students, educators and researchers, this database provides full text for nearly 200 journals covering the areas of nursing, biomedicine, health sciences, consumer health and allied health disciplines. Nearly all full text titles included in Nursing & Allied Health: Expanded Edition are indexed in CINAHL.

Points of View Reference Center
A full-text database designed to provide students with a series of essays that present multiple sides of a current issue. Over 200 topics include affirmative action, HIV/AIDS, immigration, nuclear proliferation, stem cell research, tax cuts, and many mroe. There are also guides to debate, developing arguements and writing position papers. There is also a searchable database ov the some of the most important social, political and cultural moment of the 20th century on video.
Primary Search   1990 - curent
Primary Search provides full text for 60 popular, magazines for elementary school research. All full text articles included in the database are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles).
Professional Development Collection
Designed for professional educators, this database provides a highly specialized collection of 520 high quality education journals, including nearly 350 peer-reviewed titles. This database also contains more than 200 educational reports. Professional Development Collection is the most comprehensive collection of full text education journals in the world.
Regional Business News
Full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires from all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
Science Reference Center
A comprehensive research database that provides easy access to a multitude of full text science-oriented content. This database contains full text for nearly 640 science encyclopedias, reference books, periodicals, etc. Topics covered include: biology, chemistry, earth & space science, environmental science, health & medicine, history of science, life science, physics, science & society, science as inquiry, scientists, technology and wildlife.
TOPICsearch
Research social, political & economic issues, scientific discoveries and other popular topics discussed in today’s classrooms. Contains full text for over 64,000 articles from more than 3,000 diverse sources.

Heritage Quest  
Complete set of U.S. Federal Census records from 1790-1930 and over 25,000 family and local histories.     

Informe     

click HERE if you are in the library

click here if you are not in the library
and then type in your Library barcode number

A full-text electronic reference tool to provide indexing, images and full text of popular Hispanic magazines.  Includes a thesaurus and interface that are uniquely designed for Spanish-speaking users as it thinks through every query in Spanish. Terms and thesaurus are based on the expressions Spanish-speakers commonly use.  It also features title annotations in both English and Spanish.

Learning Express     

CLICK HERE
 use your library card number as your username and create a unique password

LearningExpress Library provides a completely interactive online learning platform of practice tests and tutorial course series designed to help you succeed on the academic or licensing tests. You'll get immediate scoring, complete answer explanations, and an individualized analysis of your results. Tests include: Advanced Placement, Civil Service, College Entrance Exams, Cosmetology, E-BOOKS, Elementary School Skills Improvement, EMS, Firefighter, GED, Graduate School Entrance Exams, Health Careers, High School Skills Improvement, Law Enforcement, Math Skills Improvement, Middle School Skills Improvement, Military, Nursing, Reading Skills Improvement, Real Estate, SAT Preparation, Skills Improvement Courses, Skills Improvement with Spanish Instructions, Teaching, TOEFL Preparation, U.S. Citizenship, & Writing Skills Improvement.


Literary Reference Center       
Provides a broad spectrum on information on thousands of authors and their works across disciplines and timeframes. The collection contains 27,500 plot summaries, synopses and work overviews, nearly 100,000 articles/essays of literary criticism, 140,500 author biographies, 350 literary journals, 535,000 book reviews, 54,000 classic & contemporary poesm, 14,500 classic and contemporary short stories, 4,000 author interviews and much more.

Literature Resource Center

click HERE if you are in the library

 

click here if you are not in the library
and then type in your Library barcode number

The Literature Resource Center provides access to biographies, bibliographies, and critical analyses of authors from every age and literary discipline. The Literature Resource Center covers more than 120,000 novelists, poets, essayists, journalists, and other writers, with in-depth coverage of 2,500 of the most-studied authors.

New York Times

click HERE if you are in the library

 

click here if you are not in the library
and then type in your library barcode number

The New York Times is an internationally renowned U.S. newspaper. The complete text of recent articles is provided back to 1999. When you click on the link above, you will automatically be searching the current New York Times.  To search the Historical New York Times, select the next database in this list. 

New York Times - Historic  
Access limited to use in the 6 SCLS libraries.
The New York Times is an internationally renowned U.S. newspaper.  The entire run of the paper, dating back to the first issue in 1851, is available through the Historical New York Times. To search the current New York Times from 1999 to the present select the database listed above The Historic New York Times.

Novelist    

click HERE if you are in the library

 
Fiction readers can find the perfect novel with this reader's advisory service.

Prices for Antiques

click HERE if you are in the library

 

click here if you are not in the library

Welcome to one of the web's best sources for learning about and valuing antiques, collectibles and fine art. Find information on tens of thousands of items, updated daily.

Salud en Espanol       
Salud en Español provee reportes completos basados en evidencias y fichas de datos relacionados a todos los aspectos de la salud y el bienestar. Reportes específicos por tema que cubren todos los aspectos de la salud, dan información general importante en relación a enfermedades, afecciones y procedimientos de diversos tratamientos.

Valueline

click HERE if you are in the library

 

Access limited to use in the 6 SCLS libraries.

Information on about 1700 stocks and over 90 industries.  Includes stock market forecasts, statistics, and model porfolios.

Westlaw     
Westlaw is only available at the Main Library, ask the Reference Staff for assistance.
West's online legal research service provides instant access to statutes, cases, news, business information, public records, forms, and much more. Much of the information is oriented to New Jersey law.

World of Poetry  
Columbia Granger's World of Poetry is useful for, looking up a poet's biography, viewing commentaries on poems and poets by well respected scholars, providing a glossary that answers questions about terms in poetry, finding poems for speeches, reports, term papers, fundraising purposes, cards and letters, and, refreshing the memory on well loved poems.
Contact Us
Site Map
Last modified on Tuesday, May 6, 2008
Copyright © Sussex County Library System